What is the Campus track?
The Campus track of AIRS-J/1 is for final-year students and for graduates in their first two years of work. It uses the same rules as every other track, on the decisions a new employee makes with AI. The credential belongs to the student.
Judgment is how well a person decides once AI has given the answer. AIRS-J/1, the AIR APAC Standard for Judgment in AI-Enabled Work, assesses how a person decides, not what they know (Section 2). The questions below are about the Campus track. Each answer gives the section of the Standard it comes from.
What does the Campus track assess?
The Campus track assesses how a final-year student or a recent graduate decides once an AI tool has given an answer. It uses the same rules as every other track (Section 13).
Who is the Campus track for?
The Campus track is for final-year students of institutes of higher learning. It is also for graduates in their first two years of work (Section 13). An employer that assesses its own employees uses the Professional track instead (Section 13.2).
Where does the Campus track sit among the Standard's three uses?
The three uses "differ only in what evidence is gathered, who receives it and what it may decide" (Section 2).
| Use | Who it serves | What it may decide (Section 2) |
|---|---|---|
| Development | Adult workers in training | "Nothing about a person's employment or certification" |
| Readiness | Final-year students and recent graduates | "Campus certification, released to employers by the holder, or used by an employer that commissions a Campus-track Assessment of its own graduate applicants" |
| Assessment for employment | Employers | "Certification, and AIR APAC's expert reading for the employer's decision" |
What is the same on the Campus track, and what differs?
Every track uses the same nine dimensions in four domains (Structure, Test, Engage and Perform), and the same anchors, thresholds and decision rules (Section 13).
What differs is the scenario. Campus scenarios are workplace scenarios at entry level (Section 13):
- the person has limited authority, and a named supervisor to escalate to;
- fewer people have a stake in the decision;
- the consequence of the decision has limits.
Level 4, the highest, is attainable on every track, including Campus. It requires the candidate to state a rule that would carry forward, not the authority to impose it (Section 7.2).
What does a Campus certification mean to an employer?
"To an employer, a Campus certification means the holder met every certification rule in Section 12 on decisions of the kind an entry-level employee makes with AI in the work."
Section 2.1 names the claim a Campus credential supports: "Judgment-ready for AI-enabled work (Campus)". Its basis: "The holder met the certification rules on the Campus track, on workplace scenarios at entry level" (Section 2.1).
Is a Campus certification the same as a Professional certification?
No. A Campus certification and a Professional certification are not equivalent and not convertible. The register records them separately (Section 13.1). A Campus holder reaches Professional by a full Professional Assessment, and "the Campus band confers no credit" (Sections 13.1, 18.2).
The track is printed on the credential and shown in the register. "A band without a track has no meaning" (Section 13.2).
May an employer rely on a Campus result?
A Campus result at Moderate or High confidence is employment-grade in two cases. The student releases it to an employer, or an employer commissions it (Sections 12.8, 13.4). The employer may rely on it as one input; the decision is the employer's (Section 12.6).
A graduate who sits independently has the result released only to parties the graduate names (Section 12.6).
Who owns a Campus credential, and what does an institution receive?
The credential belongs to the student (Sections 13.4, 14.4).
Where an institute of higher learning commissions Campus assessments, Section 13.4 sets these terms.
- The institution receives each student's result by name for teaching and advising. It receives counts of levels and bands for its own cohort reporting, for ten students or more (Section 12.7), and for nothing else. Students are told this before they start.
- The institution passes no named result to an employer. The student releases it, by credential code or by naming the party.
What happens to a Not Certified, Provisional or Insufficient result?
Where an institute of higher learning commissions Campus assessments, such a result stays with the student's named adviser, apart from the academic record. It is not used for selection, ranking, scholarship, placement, internship allocation or discipline (Section 13.4).
A Provisional or Insufficient result is a development reading and decides nothing about employment or certification (Section 12.8).
Is a Campus result a condition of graduation, and may a student decline?
Where an institute of higher learning commissions Campus assessments, a Campus result is never a condition of graduation (Section 13.4). It may count towards a course grade only under a rule published to students before they enrolled in the course, with another route to the same grade. No student fails on this result alone.
A student may decline the Assessment with no academic penalty, except where such a published course rule applies.
Is practice in a course the same as a Campus certification?
No. Practice and teaching inside a course are development. Campus certification needs a separate Assessment on held-back scenarios (Section 9.3).
How long is a Campus certification valid?
A Campus certification is valid for two years from issue (Section 18.1). Recertification is a full reassessment against the version then in force. A prior band "confers no credit, no exemption and no reduced evidence requirement" (Section 18.2).
Can a student book a Campus sitting, and what does it cost?
This FAQ does not state when a Campus sitting can be booked, and names no institution or date. The Campus page says how institutions and students apply. The Campus forms and the first institution partner are evidence programme work (Annex A20).
This FAQ states no fee. Fees are confirmed at registration. Verification is free.
What this does not claim
- It does not state when a Campus sitting can be booked, and names no institution or date.
- It does not present a Campus certification as equal to, or convertible into, a Professional one.
- It does not describe a Campus result as a finding about a person's suitability for any particular job.
- It names no holder of a Campus certification.
- It states no fee.
<!-- R69, R70: when merged into the certification page, the build drops the standing line and the action below. -->
AIR APAC publishes the standard for judgment in AI-enabled work, certifies people against it through its official instrument, and stands behind every result.
A student who wants to start now can take the free course AI Fluency (Level 1 of the course, not a level of the Standard).